B i o g r a p h y

Regarded as "the whole package" with a "clear sparkling sound [and] a vibrancy in all registers", Taylor Irelan is proving to be an exciting emerging artist. Taylor has collaborated with award winning composers to commission, premiere, and record new works for the flute, as well as write his own works and transcriptions for flute and various ensembles. He has been coached by composers including Ian Clarke, Wil Offermans, and Thea Musgrave in preparation of performances of their music, such as his performance of Musgrave’s Chamber Concerto No. 2 in the Barbican Centre as part of the BBC Symphony Orchestra’s Total Immersion Project, which was recorded and broadcast live by BBC Radio 3 in London.


An active chamber and orchestral musician, Taylor has appeared on stage at prestigious venues such as the Barbican Centre (London), Milton Court (London), and Lincoln Center (NYC). Taylor is currently Principal Flute of the South Shore Symphony Orchestra, and serves as a substitute flutist with several professional orchestras including the Jacksonville Symphony orchestra and Pueblo Symphony Orchestras. Previously serving as the principal piccolo for the London Graduate Orchestra, he has also performed with the Hot Springs Music Festival Symphony Orchestra and the London Symphony Orchestra as part of their prestigious orchestral training programs.


As a concerto soloist, Taylor has been featured with ensembles across the USA and internationally, performing various concerti from Telemann to Jolivet. He has been a Performing Artist with Riverside Fine Arts Association’s Project Listen and has appeared twice in their annual Taste of Talent series. After a performance in Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall, Taylor was subsequently invited to appear as a soloist with the Distinguished Concerts International New York Artist Series.​


Taylor has won the top prizes in the National Flute Association Professional Flute Choir Competition, Florida Flute Association Advanced Masterclass Competition, University of North Florida Concerto Competition, Florida Community College Activities Association's Student Artist Competition, and the Flute Fusion Young Artist Competition. He was selected as a finalist in both the Ars Flores Young Artists Concerto Competition and the Coeur d'Alene Symphony Young Artist Competition.


Taylor currently teaches flute to select pupils as owner of The Tampa Flute Studio. His students have earned places in the Florida All State Honor Bands, Tampa Metropolitan Youth Orchestra, Hillsborough All County Honor Bands, Florida Flute Convention Junior Honors Flute Choir, USF BAY Winds Honor Band, and UT Honor Band. He is also the Director of the Gulf Coast Flute Choir, which under his direction has been selected to perform one of his original arrangements at the 2018 National Flute Association Convention.


Taylor received a Master of Music in Performance with Merit from the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, as part of the Guildhall Artist Masters in Orchestral Artistry program in association with the London Symphony Orchestra, supported by The Guildhall School Trust. He received a Bachelor of Music in Performance from the University of North Florida where he graduated summa cum laude. His primary flute teachers were Ian Clarke, Philippa Davies, Sarah Newbold, Les Roettges, and Rhonda Cassano.

I would have not had the opportunity to follow my dream and study at the Guilhdall School of Music and Drama in London if it were not for the emense generosity of so many people. Thank you so very much for all of your support and encouragement! You will forever hold a dear place in my heart.


- The Guildhall School Trust

- Janet Markham

- Sanrda Heath

- Tammy Irelan

- Pamela Irelan

- Dana Knight

- Helen Spielman

- Lea Pearson

- Nora Whittman

- Les Roettges

- Rodney Cleveland

- Rebecca McCord

- Alex McGuire

- Carmelita Montoya

- Alex Howell

- Josh Walker

- Brandon Hodge

- Jaymarie Carrasco

- William Pier

- Ai Goldsmith

- Rachel Seaman

- Anneke Toomey

- Erika Tazawa

- Ashley Earles-Bennett

- Nola Kent

- Mason Williams

- Kelly Waters

-Julie McDonald

- Caitlin Scott

- Michael Fagan

- Michael McClam

- Laura Reyes

- Erica Spear

- Todd Gerundo

- Matthew Wright

- Junior Bonilla

- Matheus Coura

- Elizabeth Felsted

- Brooke Dansberger

- Jermaine Reynolds

- Brendan Sanford

- Plus 11 anonymous donors


Thank you!

© 2023 by Classical Musician. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now